The Orkney archipelago is located 16 kilometres north of mainland Scotland and comprises of over 70 islands and skerries, of which only 20 are inhabited. The Orkneys have a long and colourful history - it is no exaggeration to say that the isles are a place where this history remains part of everyday life - every corner of the islands has its ancient monuments, most of them in remarkable state of repair.
Much of the early history is dominated by the Vikings, and from 9th Century the Kingdom of Norway - in 14th Century the Orkneys became associated with the Kingdom of Scotland.
We drove to the Bay o'Skaill in the west Mainland to check out the dwellings of the Orcadian Stone Age Man.
This prehistoric village is situated on the shore of a long white sandy beach on the Bay o'Skaill
This whole community was hidden under sand until 1850, when a massive storm blew away the sand and exposed this historic village
It was at the time thought to be an Iron Age settlement - around 500 BC
However, radiocarbon dating in the early 1970s confirmed that this Skara Brae settlement dated from the late Neolithic (3100BC) - prior to the construction of the Pyramids.
In 1868 remains of four ancient houses had been unearthed and in 1925 a further 4 .
Because of the protection offered by the sand that covered the settlement for 4,000 years and the cold weather, the building and their contents, are incredibly well-preserved.
Not only are the walls of the structures still standing
and the alleyways roofed with their original stone slabs
but the interior fitting of each house give an unparalleled glimpse of life as it was in Neolithic Orkney.
- it is estimated they were lived in for 600 years.
They were advanced people for their time, and developed a sophisticated drainage system pre-empting the toilet.
The houses were sunk in the ground to protect against the harsh Orkney winds and provide insulation and all linked together.
Each house shares the same basic design - a large square room, with a central hearth, a bed on either side and a shelved dresser.
Skaill House's owner in 1850 - the Laird of Breckness recognised the significance of what emerged after the storm, and cleared part of the ancient site of its enveloping sand in 1850.
We toured through the house - rather nice
Asian porcelain was quite popular
The current encumbent is the 12th Laird of Breckness - Major M.R.S. Macrae.
*****
We then turned our eyes to the War years in Orkney
The map above shows Scapa Flow where the German fleet scuttles itself in 1819.
There are 4 islands joined to the Orkney mainland by a series of causeways,
known as the Churchill Barriers.
Winston Churchill ordered these four causeways to be built early 1940 primarily as a naval defence to protect the anchorage at Scapa Flow
After the Royal Navy Battleship HMS Royal Oak was sunk at her moorings in October, 1939, within the natural harbour of Scapa Flow in a nighttime attack by the German U-boat U-47 who had entered Scapa Flow through Kirk Sound between Lamb Holm and the Orkney Mainland.
Although the shallow eastern passages had been secured with measures including sunken block ships, booms and anti-submarine nets, the Germans still navigated the U-47 around the obstructions at high tide
and launched a surprise torpedo attack on the Royal Naval Battleship at anchor in Scapa Flow (killing over 800 Navymen) and then escaped seaward using the same channel by navigating between the block ships.
******
550 Italian prisoners of war, captured in North Africa during World War 11, were brought to Orkney in the early 1940's to work on the Churchill Barriers..
The camp consisted at first of thirteen or more cheerless huts, but the active Italians made concrete paths, and planted flowers until the whole area was transformed.
One prisoner (Chiocchetti) made the figure of St. George above, built up from a framework of barbed wire covered with cement.
They created new amenities - a theatre with scenery and a recreation hut, which included in its equipment a concrete billiard table - one thing the camp still lacked - a chapel.
In 1943, Camp 60's new commandmant, and a Catholic father agreed that a place of worship was required. The "Italian Chapel" was constructed from limited materials by the prisoners.
Two Nissen huts were joined end-to-end, the corrugated interior was then covered with plasterboard and the altar and altar rail were constructed from concrete left over from work on the barriers. Chiocchetti created a front facade out of concrete, concealing the shape of the hut and making the building look like a church.
Most of the interior decoration was done by Domenico Chiocchetti, a POW.
He painted the sanctuary end of the chapel and fellow-prisoners decorated the entire interior.
Chiocchetti remained on the island to finish the Chapel, even though his fellow prisoners were released shortly after the end of the war. In our books it is stunning.
This Chapel overlooks the Churchill Barriers built by Camp 60 on Lamb Holm
These Churchill Barrier's bases were built from gabions enclosing 250,000 tons of broken rock from quarries on Orkney. The gabions were dropped into place from overhead cableways into waters up to 59 feet deep. The bases were then covered with 66,000 locally cast concrete blocks in five tonne and ten-tonne sizes - the five tonne blocks were laid on the core, and the ten-tonne blocks were arranged on the side in a random pattern to act as wave-breaks.
Just in closing - the use of POW labour for War Effort works is prohibited under the Geneva Conventions, the works were justified as 'improvements to communications' to the southern Orkney Islands.
*******
Next - the Jewellery trail
Orkney has a many incredible jewellery designers - we visited "Sheila Fleet's' studio that afternoon, we met her, and were shown around the studio - Sheila employs 30 staff at her studio at Tankerness.
We were kindly shown how it all works from Sheila's designs
the art of enamelling
and the final result.
We also visited the Ortak and Aurora studios - no photos, but there are 9 incredible designers in the Orkneys.
******
Our last stop today was back in Stromness- for a quick wander, 'specially to the "well" which Captain Cook and Sir John Franklin used when servicing their ships in this Port.
A wonderful long day - back to the Hotel - great Orcadian "schnitzel" thingo, and the next couple of days are why we are really here - across to the Isle of Shapinsay to find a "grave".





















































































